For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #372985
View in linear mode

Subject: "Not enough server storage to process command?" Previous topic | Next topic
jbmcmillanFri Jul-22-05 03:53 AM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6278 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"Not enough server storage to process command?"
Fri Jul-22-05 10:41 AM by jbmcmillan

          

I am having a problem accessing my main rig on a home network from the other 2 machines I keep getting the error" xxx is not accessible not enough server storage to process command.In event viewer I have many errors For "srv" and when I click on the link for help and support it tells me I need to increase my irpstacksize by editing the registry and I looked and don't have the key they mention.





I can access the other 2 from this one no problem all win XP pro.Sorry key didn't show"HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters\IrpStackSize"

Attachment #1, (jpg file)
Attachment #2, (jpg file)

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Jul 22nd 2005
1
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Jul 22nd 2005
2
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Jul 23rd 2005
3
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Jul 23rd 2005
4
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Oct 10th 2005
5
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Oct 10th 2005
6
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Oct 10th 2005
7
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Oct 11th 2005
8
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Nov 12th 2005
10
RE: Not enough server storage to process command?
Nov 12th 2005
9

DarrenFri Jul-22-05 11:19 AM
Charter member
9461 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)
Fri Jul-22-05 11:21 AM by Darren

  

          

I don't think the value should be there in XP.

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2000092713243506

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeFri Jul-22-05 01:56 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)
Fri Jul-22-05 01:57 PM by therube

  

          

"No more IRP stack locations?"
http://www.pcqanda.com/dc/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=2&topic_id=212025#212037

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeSat Jul-23-05 05:23 AM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)


  

          

GUESS WHAT *I* HAD HAPPEN TODAY!

ERROR 1130: Not enough server storage is available to process this command.


I'm trying to open a share on a networked computer of mine.
I know it had worked before.
Not sure when the last time was that I networked, though.

So I Google.
Google turns up some seemingly non-related hits.

I had just installed a search program & thought maybe that had something to do with it. So I use GoBack (which when I now actual want to use it, I find does not have a particularly usable interface). But still I cannot network.


So I come here & do a search.

That turns up this:

"Sharing a drive"
http://www.pcqanda.com/dc/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=2&topic_id=306255#306295

And the poster (me!) asks this question.
"Do you have Norton AV. Does your event log show an ID# 2011."


I say, hmmm. Don't think I have Norton AV on this computer?
I load the Event Viewer (eventvwr.exe). Sure enough, I have 2011's on the computer I trying to connect to. hmmm. I know I have GoBack installed. But that was just a small single installation. And I know I recently install Norton Ghost. That was part of NSW Premier. And in order to install Ghost, other BS needed to also be installed.

I also know that I never "activated" Ghost. And that the "preview" time had expired. So I figured I'd use GoBack to go back to before I installed Ghost. Now when I actual want to use it, I find that GoBack does not have a particularly usable interface. (Did I mention that before)? No particularly easy way to do something like, 'GO BACK to before I installed Ghost'. So I go back to the 12th. Not far enough. So I go back forward (back/forward?) to today.

Figure I'll just use Add or Remove & remove Ghost. Add or Remove asks if I want to remove all of NSW or just parts. I say parts to see what happens. I select Ghost & reboot, not sure if since the only thing that there was to remove was Ghost, whether it would actually remove NSW or not. (It did not).

Anyhow, upon reboot, my shares immediately connect.

What !

Seemingly by not activating, whatever, whatever, whatever, Symantec disabled something, & that stopped my network shares from working, generating my error.

I should have put 2 & 2 together before. Cause each time I would boot, Symantec graciously notified me that I needed to active Ghost, & that some such service or the other wouldn't start. I just figured, it had to do with Ghost, so I didn't care, but I didn't think it would affect anything else.

Seemingly it did.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

    
jbmcmillanSat Jul-23-05 12:25 PM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6278 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to therube (Reply # 3)
Sat Jul-23-05 12:42 PM by jbmcmillan

          

You know what I was just checking out Ghost the other day hmmm.I will check back after I uninstall it and see.
Edit:Well what do you know I uninstalled ghost and now can connect no problem.I agree this is Why should a backup program break my network shares?Thankyou Rube for great detective work this was driving me insane and never would have thought of Ghost as the culprit.I have pc anywhere installed also and would have thought if anything would break something network related it would be this not Ghost.
Second edit:I have 2011 event Id number also.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeMon Oct-10-05 11:46 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)


  

          

GUESS WHAT *I* HAD HAPPEN TODAY - AGAIN!

ERROR 1130: Not enough server storage is available to process this command.




With the recent talk about True Image 9.0, figured I'd take a look at Ghost again.


So I install it again. Again I don't activate it. It tells me I have 15 days to activate. I say fine. I look the program over again. I say, what a terrible interface this program has!. That was yesterday. Today I go to copy a file onto this computer (via network), & I'm hit with that ERROR 1130 again.


What .

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeMon Oct-10-05 11:48 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)
Tue Oct-11-05 12:12 AM by therube

  

          

Now I "know" whats causing it - something with Symantec/Ghost.

My question is, WHY!?


Why is it happening, & how do I leave the program installed & have access to my network?


Both computers WinXP SP2.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeMon Oct-10-05 11:55 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)


  

          

Symantec says ...

Error: "Not enough server storage is available to process this command" after installing Norton AntiVirus

And MS says ...

MS KB177078 Antivirus software may cause Event ID 2011

And both talk about IRPStackSize, yet neither computer on my network has that registry key.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

    
jbmcmillanTue Oct-11-05 12:13 AM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6278 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to therube (Reply # 7)


          

Mine didn't either and since I didn't buy it and was only trying it it went into the ones I don't use pile.So I didn't really try to figure it out any further than what you had done.If you do figure it out let me know cause I like being able to burn straight to dvd which Acronis won't.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

    
JPSat Nov-12-05 04:13 PM
Charter member
9570 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#10. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to therube (Reply # 7)


          

As the Microsoft Knowledge base article you linked to says, you have to create the registry key. It is not there by default. Be careful to follow the proceedure to create that key as described in the article.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeSat Nov-12-05 01:58 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#9. "RE: Not enough server storage to process command?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 0)


  

          

Still open to suggestions on this.

Removed Ghost today.
Rebooted.

Network works.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #372985 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.