For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #212025
View in linear mode

Subject: "No more IRP stack locations?" Previous topic | Next topic
miggyMon Apr-07-03 01:35 AM
Member since Nov 15th 2002
303 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"No more IRP stack locations?"
Mon Apr-07-03 01:54 AM

          

My computer for the second time recently gave me a blue screen and the above message and then said it was shutting down (but didn't) but it did freeze, so I had to restart after which all was OK.

So, what are IRP stack locs' and why are they in short supply? Can I eliminate/reduce the occurance of this problem?

IBM R60 Laptop. XP Pro'

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
1
RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
2
      RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
3
           RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
4
                RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
5
                     RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
6
                          RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
7
                               RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
8
                                    RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 07th 2003
9
                                    RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 08th 2003
10
                                    RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 08th 2003
12
RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 08th 2003
11
RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 08th 2003
13
      RE: No more IRP stack locations?
Apr 09th 2003
14

almessMon Apr-07-03 02:18 AM
Charter member
277 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 0)
Mon Apr-07-03 02:25 AM

          

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/kmarch/hh/kmarch/drvcomps_2i07.asp
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/kmarch/hh/kmarch/plugplay_6wx3.asp
http://www.tridiavnc.com/list-mailist/1998-06/0257.html

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

    
miggyMon Apr-07-03 02:49 AM
Member since Nov 15th 2002
303 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to almess (Reply # 1)


          

Thanks almess.

I'll get my teeth into that lot later. Having had a quick look though, those links are at the limits of my computer knowledge.

I get the impression this is related to my recent regular mp3 downloads sessions.

You got any links for computer dimwits?

IBM R60 Laptop. XP Pro'

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

        
MaggieMon Apr-07-03 03:05 AM
Charter member
4345 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 2)


  

          

Here are some more I googled your title http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&q=No+more+IRP+stack+locations

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

            
almessMon Apr-07-03 03:51 AM
Charter member
277 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to Maggie (Reply # 3)


          

Maggie, I truly did not mean to offend you, if I did in any way I apologize. You asked So, what are IRP stack locs' and why are they in short supply? and I tired to give you some good reading on the subject while I looked for more and better answers for you. I am a computer dimwit also so don't feel all alone. Hopefully we got a nice friendly thread going here and one of our good engineers will kick in and help us out and we will both learn something about this and you will get your problem fixed.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                
MaggieMon Apr-07-03 04:04 AM
Charter member
4345 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to almess (Reply # 4)


  

          

No you didn't offend me. I didn't understand any of it either. That is why I checked Google. I thought if Miggy might see something that clicked. I do enjoy learning but I need the big picture. Hopefully I never see that error. Hope I didn't offend you by posting that.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                    
almessMon Apr-07-03 04:29 AM
Charter member
277 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to Maggie (Reply # 5)


          

No offense on my end. From what I see it could be from any number of
things, why don't you post all software and such you have installed,I even saw an instance of it with a lan card so any info on what you have will be helpful to someone familiar with this I would think.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                        
almessMon Apr-07-03 01:27 PM
Charter member
277 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to almess (Reply # 6)


          

bump

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                            
miggyMon Apr-07-03 09:56 PM
Member since Nov 15th 2002
303 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to almess (Reply # 7)
Mon Apr-07-03 09:59 PM

          

Hi Guys.

I seem to have missed something somewhere. Almess, is your second post directed at Maggie or myself? Anyway, I've not been offended by anyone.

Maggie, I looked at the googled link and it's very interesting as 'Patrick' the guy also asking about IRP stack locs' (first link listed) mentions that he has two drives in addition to his normal drive.

Well so have I. I've got the above messages each time while downloading loads of stuff and working/saving/copying stuff to and from these additional drives. Whether this has any relevance I don't know.

For the record the two drives are external IBM 8Gb Travelstar drives connected via the PC card slots.

These things: http://www.expansys.us/product.asp?code=TRAVELSTAR8E

IBM R60 Laptop. XP Pro'

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                                
MaggieMon Apr-07-03 11:53 PM
Charter member
4345 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#9. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 8)


  

          

Here is a link to the IBM HDD http://ssddom01.hgst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/85256AB8006A31E587256A790053B2A9//dtzn_ds.pdf
The link you gave doesn't mention your Toshiba as being compatible. Not to say that means anything.
Laptops can be funny creatures. The hdd are great maybe you can get a different PC card to hook to them. If Toshiba has a forum this might be the best place to get links for other products.
















  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                                    
miggyTue Apr-08-03 01:56 AM
Member since Nov 15th 2002
303 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#10. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to Maggie (Reply # 9)


          

Hi Maggie.

No probs' with my two E8's. Been using them for ages, I'd be lost without 'em. Didn't need to use the included installing stuff, XP pro' picked them up straight away, so I don't think it's a hardware problem. I'm familiar with the PDF docs' link.

I'm a little surprised that one of the real computer boffins like Shelley hasn't been around yet on this one.

It's no 'BIG' problem more of an occaisional irritation.

IBM R60 Laptop. XP Pro'

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

                                
MaggieTue Apr-08-03 07:57 AM
Charter member
4345 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#12. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 8)


  

          

Is there anything you can disable? Serial ports,...Going into the registry for XP on that Symantec link.
I know I don't use a bunch of things on my laptop. I won't be hooking up a printer, so the parallel port. Do you have both HDD hooked up at the same time? If you have a spare modular bay maybe, get one of those kits to put a HD in.
I have mine networked,all the extra hardware is in another room. Wireless PC card is the only thing sticking out on the machine.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeTue Apr-08-03 02:05 AM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#11. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 0)


  

          

I'm in the same boat as far as knowing what IRP stacks are for, but...

Some of what I've gleaned (is that a word?).


IRPstackSize REG_DWORD 1 to 12
Default: 4
Specifies the number of stack locations in I/O Request Packets (IRPs) used by the server. It may be necessary to increase this number for certain transports, MAC drivers, or local file system drivers. Each increment costs 36 bytes of memory per work item (that is, #work items * 36 bytes = total memory cost).


Some relationship to TCP/IP. Windows sockets. AFD Registry paramaters. And who know what else.


Programs that seem to affect/be affected by IRPstackSize.
QuotaAdvisor. ARCServe. Lanman Server. File and Print Services for NetWare. Norton AntiVirus for Windows or IBM AntiVirus 3.01N. WinVNC.


<http://www.windows2000faq.com/Articles/Index.cfm?ArticleID=23314>
Windows XP, Windows 2000, and Windows NT all have an IRPStackSize value that controls how much physical storage space and RAM are available to new applications, and some new software installs incorrectly set this value. This value ranges from 11 to 20 for XP and from 11 to 15 for Win2K and NT. If you set this value to less than 11, you'll receive an error message indicating that the system doesn't have enough server storage. As a result, clients won't be able to access network shares and Event ID 2011 will appear in the System log.


<http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/7e7f15291a25d938882567e50048a048/c5f235e31e2baaa588256bc2007088ff?OpenDocument&sone=_tasks.html&stg=∏;=&ver=&base=&next=&src=ent&pcode=&dtype=corp&svy=&prev=>
Changing the IRPStackSize is sometimes necessary to fix problems or for troubleshooting a problem that occur when it is set too low. In most cases, you should not do this unless it is recommend by another Symantec knowledge base document or a Symantec technician.


The server preallocates I/O request packets to be the size specified by the IRPSTACKSIZE parameter in the configuration information. The value of this parameter must be as large as the size required by any transport or file system in the network.


<http://support.precisesrm.com/scripts/support.cfg/php.exe/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=364>
On machines with a large amount of file activity, you might get "Not Enough Server Storage is available to process this command" error after installing StorageCentral, and users cannot connect to the server. This occurs because the server's current configuration for I/O Request Packets (IRPs) is too low. The problem occurs on Windows NT 4.0 and Windows 2000. You can correct the problem by increasing the registry value and restarting the server.


<http://www.windows2000faq.com/Articles/Index.cfm?ArticleID=14571>


<http://search.microsoft.com/default.asp?IntCat=0&IntCat=1&IntCat=2&IntCat=3&IntCat=4&IntCat=5&IntCat=6&IntCat=7&IntCat=8&IntCat=9&Boolean=ALL&Nq=NEW&qu=irpstacksize&btnSearch=GO&ig=1&ig=2&ig=3&ig=4&ig=5&ig=6&ig=7&ig=8&ig=9&ig=10&siteid=us>
A bunch of MS articles on irpstacksize.


<http://www.jsifaq.com/_vti_script/reghackSrch.htm0.idq>
Search for irpstacksize

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

    
miggyTue Apr-08-03 10:28 PM
Member since Nov 15th 2002
303 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#13. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to therube (Reply # 11)


          

Hi Guys.

I've got to be honest here and say all this is beyond me now.

I can only wait for someone who really understands this stuff and gives a practical description for 'dummies'.

IBM R60 Laptop. XP Pro'

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

        
therubeWed Apr-09-03 03:51 AM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16515 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#14. "RE: No more IRP stack locations?"
In response to miggy (Reply # 13)


  

          

From what I gather, either an entry that is needed is not in the registry, or an entry that is in the registry contains a wrong value.

Do you have or use any of the software mentioned in the links above.

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #212025 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.