For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #565337
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Oh my! Now I have done it! " 1 | 2 | Previous topic | Next topic
kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 02:27 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"Oh my! Now I have done it! "


          

help! OK so I booted my dell 5567 into f12, and set back to uefi, unsecured. Booted with my USB adaptor which has OS on it it immediately went to install Os. Thought I was home free. Far from it. I think I have REALLY MESSED IT UP. windows setup
Say
Drive 0 partition one
Cannot install to this partition.
Drive0 partition 2
Same thing! MBR on disk, must be GPT. What? How and what have I done??

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Replies to this topic: Pages 1 | 2
GreyFalconTue May-15-18 03:18 PM
Charter member
2831 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to kittenmueller (Reply # 0)


          

Are you trying to do a clean install or just change hard drives? Is your old drive damaged? It is my understanding that with a clean install you need to have UEFI bootable media so it is recognized with security enabled. This might help shed some light on that (https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-create-a-bootable-uefi-usb-drive-with-windows-10-setup/). If it is a clean install the hard drive should have unallocated space before installation. If it is a simple drive change cloning the drive and adjusting for size differences should make it as simple as swapping the drive. If the old drive is damaged that is a different story and a clean install is in order.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

therubeTue May-15-18 03:35 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16578 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to kittenmueller (Reply # 0)
Tue May-15-18 03:36 PM by therube

  

          

I recently used https://rufus.akeo.ie/ for a new Win7 reinstall.

See my last post here where I mention the GPT option, https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31826726-WIN7-Program-transfer-from-old-drive-to-clean-os-is-it-possible.

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 03:47 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to GreyFalcon (Reply # 1)


          

There was nothing wrong with the other drive it is a new computer I bought in January. I simply wanted to upgrade from a 256 to a 500 SSD. I'm afraid I screwed up the UEFI and the legacy on my own and did not realize it. Right now I am going to put the old one back in because it is completely factory reset and at least I'll have a computer while I figure out how to deal with the other issue.

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 04:20 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to therube (Reply # 2)


          

Ok, I put the original SSD back in. Luckily it was freshly restored to factory so good to go. Now, I made this SD card OS copy off of a HP 23 in AIO and have used it to restore this pc with zero issues. So, As this is a new pc , it should be UEFI without Secure Boot?? Somehow I switched the new one to legacy when I put OS system on. It would only boot into Legacy mode. UEFI gave no OS error. I want to NOW make sure my boot, bios etc is CORRECT . I will burn another OS from scratch And then attempt to swap out to 500 SSD.

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

GreyFalconTue May-15-18 04:29 PM
Charter member
2831 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to kittenmueller (Reply # 4)


          

The Main reason for UEFI is a secure boot environment.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 04:47 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to GreyFalcon (Reply # 5)


          

I messed it up. I need to fix it. Uugh.

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

GreyFalconTue May-15-18 07:27 PM
Charter member
2831 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to kittenmueller (Reply # 6)


          

Apparently the link I provided references a program called Rufus that makes your USB readable through UEFI (secured) so you can install the Win 10 ISO. In order to access Legacy installation methods you have to turn off Secure Boot (and UEFI). If Dell is anything like it used to be you probably have to get the installation media from them to comply with their volume licensing.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 07:54 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to GreyFalcon (Reply # 7)


          

Yeah I tried to tell what to check out for me as i KNOW what happened, and they spent a n hur checking eveything else! They he could nt get support assist to connect, poor English, I finally hung up.

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

GreyFalconTue May-15-18 08:25 PM
Charter member
2831 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#9. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to kittenmueller (Reply # 8)


          

http://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/04/sln300635/how-to-install-windows-10-from-a-dell-windows-10-recovery-dvd?lang=en Near the end they address the USB option.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

kittenmuellerTue May-15-18 09:48 PM
Member since Sep 27th 2002
1414 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#10. "RE: Oh my! Now I have done it! "
In response to GreyFalcon (Reply # 9)


          

Ok, this looks like EXACTLY what I have been looking for , step by step to get this fixed right. Ok, So I have the original SSD back in it. If I verify the boot, etc are all correct by this article, Can i delete the OS I put on the SD, reformat it, and make a new OS Sd? I just want to assure the Sd I use is made in the correct boot order, etc. This is making me very aggravated as I love my pcs to run perfectly!

"kitten with a mean streak"

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #565337 1 | 2 | Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.