For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #545076
View in threaded mode

Subject: "How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?" 1 | 2 | 3 | Previous topic | Next topic
adirongWed Aug-01-12 06:11 PM
Charter member
1601 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
Wed Aug-01-12 07:06 PM by adirong

          

http://www.winknews.com/Local-Florida/2012-07-23/Call-for-Action-FBI-computer-scam-warning

My Dad's Vista Home Premium laptop is now infected with this virus and I don't know how to tell him to fix it. He has Avira, SuperAnti spyware, SpywareBlaster, SS&D, AdAware. Is there anything I can do to help him get rid of that nasty virus? He can't get online at all. Is his information on his PC safe??

I need the safest, easiest, step by step directions, I C a lot when I google but I'd like a most trusted source if you all can recommend one please.

Thanks

Edit: Dad says Avira free detected the virus but it was after he hit "remove" that he got infected with it

Adirondack Girl

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Replies to this topic: Pages 1 | 2 | 3
TtechWed Aug-01-12 09:35 PM
Member since Aug 06th 2002
10246 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to adirong (Reply # 0)
Wed Aug-01-12 09:35 PM by Ttech

  

          

If I remember correctly, your dad is in another state. If he isn't tech savvy enough to download some software tools on another computer and take them to his computer on a CD or flash drive, then he will need assistance from somebody who is technical.

I saw this infection the other day. I used ComboFix and Malwarebytes to remove it.

None of the security programs on the computer now will help because internet access is blocked and they can't get updates. You really need to get rid of Adaware, and I don't remember the last time I used Spybot, although it may still be a useful program.

Behind every good computer... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

adirongThu Aug-02-12 01:28 AM
Charter member
1601 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 1)
Thu Aug-02-12 01:34 AM by adirong

          

Quote:
If I remember correctly, your dad is in another state. If he isn't tech savvy enough to download some software tools on another computer and take them to his computer on a CD or flash drive, then he will need assistance from somebody who is technical.


You have a good memory! I think he can handle that! I haven't used the ComboFix prog before but I've used Malwarebytes. Will these have to be run in safe mode? Not sure he can access his desktop? I'll have him DL these and go from there, hopefully he can do this tomorrow and I'll post back, thank you

Edit: my concern with the Combo Fix is that if he doesn't have the windows recovery console installed then there will be now way for him to install it since he is unable to access the internet because of the virus he now has so then the ComboFix will be of no help right?

Adirondack Girl

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

jbmcmillanThu Aug-02-12 01:40 AM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6243 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to adirong (Reply # 2)


          

I don't have it either (recovery console)and I ran it about a week ago with no problems (not saying that is always the case). It tries to create a restore point before proceeding and just tell him to just leave it alone even if it takes a while as it can stall out if you click on the window.You don't really install this just run it.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

CompPeteThu Aug-02-12 02:30 AM
Member since Apr 17th 2004
3170 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 3)


  

          

ComboFix DOES install when you run it, but not in the conventional way. After you get everything all cleaned up, go to the Run window (Windows key + R) and type in "combifix /uninstall" to uninstall it.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

jbmcmillanThu Aug-02-12 03:52 AM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6243 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to CompPete (Reply # 4)


          

Ran it a while back maybe a week ago and I tried your command and it just says it can't find it.I just thought it did it itself when it ended.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

CompPeteThu Aug-02-12 05:38 AM
Member since Apr 17th 2004
3170 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to jbmcmillan (Reply # 5)


  

          

The uninstall won't work if you've already deleted the Combofix.exe file. But just deleting it doesn't uninstall it.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-use-combofix#uninstall

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

jujet84Thu Aug-02-12 11:29 AM
Charter member
3422 posts
Click to send email to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to CompPete (Reply # 6)


          

Quote From MajorGeeks cortious of Kestrel13!

If we had you use ComboFix, uninstall ComboFix (This uninstall will only work as written if you installed ComboFix on your Desktop like we requested.)

Click START then RUN and enter the below into the run box and then click OK. Note the quotes are required

"%userprofile%\Desktop\combofix" /uninstall
Notes: The space between the combofix" and the /uninstall, it must be there.

This will uninstall ComboFix and also reset hidden files and folders settings back to Windows defaults.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

jbmcmillanThu Aug-02-12 12:23 PM
Member since Jul 17th 2002
6243 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to jujet84 (Reply # 7)


          

Next time I will read things myself instead of going on other people's instructions .

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

adirongThu Aug-02-12 04:03 PM
Charter member
1601 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#9. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 1)


          

Once he gets these two programs installed on a flash drive then what should his next steps be to get rid of this nasty virus so I can talk him thru it?

Adirondack Girl

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

CompPeteThu Aug-02-12 04:18 PM
Member since Apr 17th 2004
3170 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#10. "RE: How to Remove the FBI MoneyPak Malware Virus?"
In response to adirong (Reply # 9)


  

          

I'd uninstall Avira first because it can conflict with Combofix.
Copy Combofix to the desktop, and run it.
When its done, attach the log file here for review if possible.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #545076 1 | 2 | 3 | Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.